The Ultimate Hen Party – Inis Mor! :)

I couldn’t wait for my mums hen party! We had it planned since April and knew we wanted to head to The Aran Islands, in particular Inis Mor which is the biggest island.

Both me and my mum had previously been on hen party’s there and we had the best laugh!

My mum set myself and aunt the task of planning the hen as we are bridesmaids.

For more information please keep reading 🙂

Firstly we booked The Aran Islands Hotel. We paid €49 for bed & breakfast and I think it was around €22 for a 3 course meal.

The hotel is a short walk from the pier but you can also avail of the lift provided, taxi or horse & cart ride.

For more information please visit >>>

http://www.aranislandshotel.com/

We decided we would travel from Rossaveal County Galway Ferry Terminal. It is located in Connemara. Return ferry rate is €25 but they do offer group rates & special discounts. For more information I would advise to email them, they are extremely helpful & friendly. For more information please visit >>>

http://www.aranislandferries.com/index.php

Now onto the actual hen party 🙂 We arrived at the ferry terminal, collected our tickets and walked to the ferry which to our surprise was really nice. All the crew on board are so helpful, they help you with bags and also let us pop a bottle of bubbly out the back, which to say the least was hilarious. Swaying around, trying not to fall overboard and trying to pour glasses of bubbly lol All this while my mum was dressed like someone from ABBA!

The ferry is only about 40 minutes which passes so quickly and the views are stunning. 

Once we arrived on the island we met Niall, the owner of the hotel who gladly took our bags up to the hotel as we walked up, as I think thats part of the experience, getting to know the area (and mortifying my mum lol).

My Aunt had made signs and posted them over to be put up outside the hotel and they gladly put them up for us. It was hilarious!

We put away our bags and were greeted with a cocktail 🙂 We were all starving so we had soup & sandwiches! Niall kindly showed us how to use the tv in the bar to play videos of the groom to be in our “Mr & Mrs” style game lol It was perfect as we got to chill but yet have loads of fun and have a quiet drink 🙂

We also presented the gift bags we had made up, which included >>>

  • Penney’s face & hand wipes
  • 2 Anadin – bought in Dealz
  • small bottle of water
  • Miniature candle from Penney’s wrapped in crepe paper with a ribbon.
  • Sweet jellies 🙂
  • Old style cigarette holder, because it was Aubrey Hepburn Theme.
  • Personalised badge available from >>> http://www.jokeshop.ie 
  • Willy straw, whistle etc.. Available from any party shop or pound shop.
  • Dare card – from a pack, can be got in any party shop or pound shop.
  • Glow sticks – available from any party shop or pound shop.

After this some went off on the bus to Dun Aengus, they also went swimming 🙂 And some went cycling (you can rent bicycles). You can organise any excursion with reception. I chose to relax 🙂

The rooms were gorgeous, lovely and spacious, comfortable, warm and equipped with everything you need.

We all got suited & booted in our Audrey Hepburn outfit and I must say every single person looked stunning!! Such a classy theme 🙂 Everyone had to wear black except for my mum, of course 🙂 We chose this beautiful Tiffany Blue dress which was absolutely gorgeous on her, she got it last year in Concepts, Oranmore, County Galway. 

Pearls were also a must which a lot of us got in Penneys and a few got plain black sunglasses, also from Penneys.

Dinner was gorgeous! I went with Caeser salad, Carbonara and I actually didn’t eat my desert as I don’t really like them. We had dinner in a separate room, for hen’s, stags etc.. 

We got to do another few things in here as we had everyone together. We did willy toss and an awards ceremony 🙂 I got an awards kit on http://www.sportsdirect.com containing 3 trophies and 10 certificates. The trophies went to “Best Dressed” and everyone except myself, Aunt & Mum got a certificate for something. For example, Best Swimsuit, Best One Liners, In most need of a corkscrew lol 🙂 Everyone loved them!! And best of all they only cost €4 🙂

We went to Joe Watty’s pub which in my opinion is the best craic. They have live music, modern & traditional. Lots of seating inside and outside. You can get a taxi bus up if you like which is what we did as we had great fun with the bus driver and he also collected us. 

I cannot praise the staff of the hotel any more! They went above and beyond for us and put up with us till the very wee hours of the morning, especially Pavel, he was so helpful and friendly 🙂 

I couldn’t possible write about the whole hen party as there was too many funny moments! You have to experience it for yourself.

I highly recommend Inis Mor as a destination for a hen party and I need someone else to get married now so that we can go back lol

I hope this was helpful and I didn’t bore you to tears 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to read 🙂

Ciara ❤

 

Leave a Reply

