Mini Family Holiday to Cork – Fota Wildlife & Trabolgan :)

 

We headed to Cork this week for 2 days. I personally love Cork. I have quite a bit of family down there so spent a lot of my childhood in Cork and I went to college there for a bit.

So I have some of my greatest memories in Cork 🙂

We knew we wanted to take our daughter to Fota Wildlife and Trabolgan so we were looking for a hotel that was quite central and convenient to these locations.

We booked the Midleton Park Hotel in Midleton Co. Cork for one night. This hotel is just off the dual carriageway, only 10/15 minutes from Fota Wildlife & about 25 minutes from Trabolgan.

We paid €120 for a double room with a camp style bed for Kayleigh, breakfast was included.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Location is excellent, our room was beautiful (I think we got a refurbished room, the decor was stunning), staff are very pleasant, leisure centre is fantastic and the breakfast was yummy with lots to choose from!

I’m kicking myself that I didn’t take any pictures of the hotel but the website has plenty of information and pictures 🙂

http://www.midletonpark.com/

On the first day we headed to Fota Wildlife, it was a Monday and it was packed!! There is plenty of parking but unfortunately it costs €3. Besides that it is a fantastic place! So much to do and see. We brought a picnic last year and I wish we did this year as it can be a little pricey getting food, drinks and ice creams. But the food we did get was really nice! So many animals to see and lots of room to run around and explore!

I would advise if you have younger children to bring a buggy as it is quite a long walk around. One of our favourite parts was The Tropical House, there were butterflies, snakes, bearded dragons and lots more! The butterflies fly freely which is lovely and there is a beautiful picture opportunity where the butterflies are feeding on fruit.

And lastly the monkeys are fantastic! It’s like they are almost posing for pictures when they see people with cameras 🙂 I would highly recommend a visit to Fota! Bring suncream if it is any bit sunny! You could spend all day there, it is fantastic!

 More information here >>>

http://www.fotawildlife.ie/

We made our way to the hotel then to check in, My partner & daughter couldn’t wait to go swimming in the pool, I was wrecked so I watched on. The receptionist at the leisure centre was super helpful and pleasant. He told me all of the pool is 4ft so there is no deep end or shallow end. There is also a kiddies pool. There is armbands, swimming caps, swim nappies etc.. available here at reasonable prices and towels are provided for free. 

Day 2 we headed to Trabolgan 🙂 I have a full blog post on our visit a few months ago. Here it is >>>

https://mummymakeupblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/13/trabolgan-for-a-great-family-day-out/

This time we did a lot more! We had loads of fun in the arcade, we went up to the Jungle safari which is an indoor play area and it is free. Myself and my partner were able to chill with a coffee and hot chocolate 🙂 There is also zip lining and go karting up there.

Probably my daughters favourite part of the day was the Peppa and George show 🙂 It was fantastic we went up dancing and cheering with the other families. The girl from the entertainment team “Team Stars” was fantastic! She was really interactive with all the children and got everyone pumped and excited! And to make it even better this was free 🙂

Again we spent hours here! You really could spend a whole day here. Each time I go back I can’t wait to go back again 🙂 

You can find more information here >>>

http://www.trabolgan.com/

I do just want to note that I am not being paid to write about any of the places mentioned. I was very kindly gifted day passes this time to Trabolgan which I am very grateful for and think it was a very kind gesture from the team at Trabolgan but we paid for any additional activities. 

Thank you for taking the time to read and hope this was helpful 🙂

I would love some suggestions on activities to do as a family!

Ciara ❤

 

One thought on “Mini Family Holiday to Cork – Fota Wildlife & Trabolgan :)

  1. Pingback: A perfect weekend in Cork :) | mummymakeupblog

Leave a Reply

